Pacific Northwest Chapter
of MLA
  • Home

The Pacific Northwest Chapter/Medical Library Association promotes excellence and leadership of health information professionals through education, research and communication; fosters the utilization of information systems and services in support of informed health care decision making; promotes cooperation among library/information services; and represents chapter members' interests to MLA and other groups and agencies.

Statement of Support

In light of recent events, the PNC/MLA Group recognizes and strongly condemns anti-Asian hate crimes that have spread across our country over the past year.  The PNC/MLA Group aligns itself and affirms the Asian Pacific American Librarians Association’s (APALA) recent statement that condemns the increase in anti-Asian hate crimes across America in the last year.

PNC/MLA stands in solidarity with our Asian, Asian American, and Pacific Islander (AAPI) communities. We encourage our library community to stand with the AAPI community by publicly condemning anti-AAPI racism through action.  The PNC/MLA group highly recommends these resources compiled by the APALA.  

In Solidarity,

PNC/MLA Diversity Committee

Statement from PNCMLA concerning the changes in the NNLM regions

As you may have heard, the Network of the National Libraries of Medicine (NNLM) will be re-drawing their component regions for the next five-year grant cycle. This change will take place on May 1, 2021; the member states of our Chapter (bolded) will be affected as follows:

Current Regions:

  • Pacific Northwest Region: Alaska, Idaho, Montana, Oregon, and Washington

The Pacific Northwest Region is based in Seattle, WA, at the University of Washington.

  • Pacific Southwest Region: Arizona, California, Hawaii, Nevada, and US Territories in the Pacific Basin.

The Pacific Southwest Region is based in Los Angeles, CA, at the University of California, Los Angeles.

New Regions:

Region 4: Arizona, Idaho, Montana, Colorado, New Mexico, North Dakota, South Dakota, Utah, and Wyoming

Region 5: Alaska, Oregon, Washington, California, Hawaii, Nevada, and U.S. Territories and Freely Associated States in the Pacific

Despite these changes to the NNLM Regions, PNC/MLA is not planning to make any changes to our boundaries based on the new regions -- we value our colleagues in Idaho and Montana! We are also looking forward to working closely with our Pacific Southwest Region neighbors as part of Region 5.


PNCMLA 2022 Conference

Join us online: 

  • October 20th from 12:00 p.m. - 4:00 p.m. PDT
  • October 21st from 9:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m. PDT

Register nowThe conference is free.

Medical Library Association
Founded in 1898, the Medical Library Association is a professional organization of more than 1,200 institutions and 4,000 professionals in the health information field. MLA fosters excellence in the professional achievement and leadership of health science library and information professionals to enhance the quality of health care, education, and research. Members interested in MLA's peer-reviewed professional development and career recognition program should visit the AHIP page. Contact the PNC AHIP Liaison if you have questions about this program. MLA also provides financial support (awards) to health sciences librarians at a variety of levels, including grants, scholarships, and fellowships. MLA has guidelines, tip sheets, and resources for mentoring on their site. Visit the MLA web site at for additional information.

 Associations & Organizations  Job Listings  NLM  NNLM Region 4 NNLM Region 5  NNLM Membership Directory


© Pacific Northwest Chapter / Medical Library Association
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software