2006 Annual Report - PNC/MLA Bylaws Committee

During 2005 and 2006, the Bylaws Committee worked with the PNC/MLA Board to delineate and codify our membership categories, including the Institutional Member for participating in group purchasing, in a new Section 2. Classes of Membership, under Article III. Membership. The Bylaws, last revised in 2003, had not previously defined our categories. Committee Chair, Jan Schueller met with the Board in Seattle on April 6, 2006 to finalize that section.

We also brought our Bylaws into compliance with the September 2005 MLA *Model Bylaws for Use by Chapters and Sections of the Medical Library Association, Inc* The primary change was to allow electronic voting for officers and other Chapter business. The completed revisions were submitted to the MLA Bylaws Committee for approval on April 17th. . Committee Chair, Carolyn Kopper made four relatively minor recommendations, only one being mandatory: Article III. Section 3. Dues. Part A must refer to "MLA Regular Members" to conform to the September 2005 Model Bylaws and current MLA terminology. The second recommendation pointed out other Sections to update for electronic voting – essentially changing "mail" to "distribute". A third recommendation added the following sentence to Article II. Committees and Appointive positions Section 1 Appointment: Neither the Chair nor the Chair-Elect shall serve on or appoint members to the Nominating Committee. This conforms to the Model Bylaws and provides clarification. The last recommendation related to our quorum, which is a percent (25%) – the standard is an absolute number so was changed that to 25 members.

The Chapter membership voted by mail to accept all revisions in July, 2006. In August the revised PNC/MLA Bylaws were sent to the MLA Bylaws Committee Chair, to Mary Langman at MLA HQ, and to Sarah Gable, MLA Chapter Council Chair. That same month they were posted on the Chapter website and members were notified via HLIB.

Respectfully submitted,

Jan Schueller, Chair

Committee Members: Robin Braun, Donna Hudson, Doreen Smith

4 October 2006